

MINUTES

THOMASTON BOARD OF EDUCATION
SPECIAL MEETING
THOMASTON HIGH SCHOOL AUDITORIUM
Wednesday, November 20, 2019
5:30 p.m.

Mission Statement:

In a partnership of family, school and community, our mission is to educate, challenge and inspire

each individual to excel and become a contributing member of society.

Members:

Beth Campbell, Chairperson
David Colavecchio, Vice Chairperson
Heather Patchell, Secretary
Roxy Fainer, Treasurer
Francine Coss, Superintendent

Matthew VanOrmer Maureen McMahon Jennifer Nolan Salvatore SantaMaria Frank Treglia

Student Representatives 2019-2020 Jacob Field Isabella Guerrera McKenna O'Sullivan

- 1. Establishment of a Quorum and Call to Order
 - 1.1 **Superintendent Francine Coss** called the meeting to order at 5:32 p.m.
- 2. Organizational Meeting for the Purpose of Electing Officers

Bylaws of the Board 9120 – "The Board shall every two years, not later than one month after the date on which newly elected members take office, elect from its number a Chairperson, Vice-Chairperson, Secretary and Treasurer. The new officers shall take office upon election. A record of the votes cast by individual members shall be minuted in accordance with statute... These officers shall hold office for a term of two (2) years."

A. Nominations for Board of Education Chairperson – Bylaw 9121

Superintendent Coss asked the Board to nominate a Board Chairperson.

Beth Campbell nominated David Colavecchio as Board Chairperson.

Suprintendent Coss asked if there were any other nominations for Board Chairperson.

Jennifer Nolan nominated Beth Campbell as Board Chairperson.

Superintendent Coss asked if there were any other nominations for Board Chairperson.

There was none.

Superintendent Coss asked the Board members to write the name of (1) of the nominees on the ballot card. The cards were collected and the count was read aloud.

Discussion: None

Vote Results:

	David	Beth
David	✓	
Matthew		✓
Roxy		✓
Beth	✓	
Jennifer		✓
Heather		✓
Maureen	✓	

Salvatore SantaMaria and Frank Treglia were absent.

Superintendent Coss announced that the Board of Education had a new Board Chairperson, and handed the meeting over to **Beth Campbell, Chairperson**.

B. Nominations for Board of Education Vice Chairperson – Bylaw 9122

Chairperson Beth Campbell asked the Board to nominate a Vice-Chairperson.

Jennifer Nolan nominated David Colavecchio.

Chairperson Beth Campbell asked the Board if there were any other nominations for Vice-Chairperson. There was none.

The ballot cards were collected and the count was read out loud.

Discussion: None

Vote Results: **David Colavecchio** was congratulated as the new Vice-Chairperson for the Board

	David
David	✓
Matthew	✓
Roxy	✓
Beth	✓
Jennifer	✓
Heather	✓
Maureen	✓

Salvatore SantaMaria and Frank Treglia were absent.

C. Nominations for the Board of Education Secretary – Bylaw 9123

Chairperson Beth Campbell asked the Board to nominate a Secretary.

David Colavecchio nominated Heather Patchell.

Chairperson Beth Campbell asked the Board if there were any other nominations for Secretary. There was none.

The ballot cards were collected and the count was read out loud.

Discussion: None

Vote Results: **Heather Patchell** was congratulated as the Secretary for the Board of Education.

	Heather
David	✓
Matthew	✓
Roxy	✓
Beth	✓
Jennifer	✓
Heather	✓
Maureen	✓

Salvatore SantaMaria and Frank Treglia were absent.

D. Nominations for the Board of Education Treasurer – Bylaw 9126

Chairperson Beth Campbell asked the Board to nominate a Treasurer.

Heather Patchell nominated Roxy Fainer.

Chairperson Beth Campbell asked the Board if there were any other nominations for

Treasurer. There was none.

The ballot cards were collected and the count was read out loud.

Discussion: None

Vote Results: Roxy Fainer was congratulated as the Treasurer for the Board of Education.

	Roxy
David	✓
Matthew	✓
Roxy	✓
Beth	✓
Jennifer	✓
Heather	✓
Maureen	✓

Salvatore SantaMaria and Frank Treglia were absent.

3. Committee Sign Up

Policy Committe: Beth Campbell, Heather Patchell, Matthew VanOrmer

Budget/Audit Committee: Beth Campbell, David Colavecchio, Roxy Fainer

4. Adjournment

Jennifer Nolan motioned and Heather Patchell seconded to adjourn the meeting at 5:48 p.m.

Discussion: None

Vote: 7-0-0