

### **MINUTES**

# THOMASTON BOARD OF EDUCATION SPECIAL MEETING

Thomaston High School Auditorium, Entrance Door #3 Wednesday, November 17, 2021 at 5:30 p.m.

Public May Attend In-Person (<u>see requirements</u>)

This meeting can be viewed live on <u>Board of Education YouTube Channel</u>

#### **Mission Statement:**

In a partnership of family, school and community, our mission is to educate, challenge and inspire each individual to excel and become a contributing member of society.

#### **Board of Education Goals:**

- 1) Spotlight on one staff member each Regular meeting (September June)
- 2) Conduct meetings that are efficient using hybrid meeting technology
- 3) Provide relevant research and data prior to the formal presentation of that information to the Board.

### **Members:**

Roxy Fainer, Chairperson
David Colavecchio, Vice Chairperson
Heather Patchell, Secretary

Steven Carr, Treasurer
Francine Coss, Superintendent
Frank Treglia
Jennifer Nolan

Sarah Ethier Beth Campbell Matthew VanOrmer

**Student Representatives 2021 - 2022** 

Cesar Velez Delaney Jose

- 1. Establishment of a Quorum and Call to Order Superintendent Francine Coss
  - 1.1. **Superintendent Francine Coss** called the meeting to order at 5:30pm.
  - 1.2. Members Present: Roxy Fainer, David Colavecchio, Heather Patchell, Steven Carr, Frank Treglia, Jennifer Nolan, Sarah Ethier, Matthew VanOrmer, Beth Campbell, Superintendent Francine Coss
  - 1.3. Student Representatives Absent: Delaney Jose, Cesar Velez
  - 1.4. Others in Attendance: Gianni Perugini
- 2. Organizational Meeting for the Purpose of Electing Officers Bylaw 9120 Superintendent Francine Coss
  - 2.1. Nominations for Board of Education Chairperson Bylaw 9121 Superintendent Francine Coss Superintendent Coss asked the Board to nominate a Chairperson.
    David Colavecchio nominated Roxy Fainer as Chairperson and Frank Treglia seconded.

Sarah Ethier nominated Beth Campbell as Chairperson and Heather Patchell seconded.

	Roxy	Beth
Beth		✓
David	✓	
Heather		✓
Roxy	✓	
Frank	✓	
Jennifer		✓
Sarah		✓
Steven	✓	
Matthew	✓	

The ballot cards were collected and the count was read aloud.

Vote Results: Roxy Fainer was congratulated as the Chairperson of the Board.

2.2. Nominations for Board of Education Vice-Chairperson – Bylaw 9122 - Newly Elected Chairperson Chairperson Roxy Fainer asked the board to nominate a Vice Chairperson.

Frank Treglia nominated Beth Campbell as Vice Chairperson and Matthew VanOrmer seconded. Beth Campbell did not accept the nomination.

Frank Treglia nominated David Colavecchio as Vice Chairperson and Matthew VanOrmer seconded.

	Dave
Beth	abstain
David	✓
Heather	✓
Roxy	✓
Frank	✓
Jennifer	✓
Sarah	✓
Steven	✓
Matthew	✓

The ballot cards were collected and the count was read aloud.

Vote Results: David Colavecchio was congratulated as the Vice Chairperson of the Board.

2.3. Nominations for Board of Education Secretary – Bylaw 9123 - Newly Elected Chairperson David Colavecchio renominated Heather Patchell as Secretary and Matthew VanOrmer seconded.

Heather
<b>✓</b>
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓
✓

The ballot cards were collected and the count was read aloud.

Vote Results: Heather Patchell was congratulated as the Secretary of the Board.

2.4. Nominations for Board of Education Treasurer – Bylaw 9126 - Newly Elected Chairperson David Colavecchio nominated Steven Carr for Treasurer and Heather Patchell seconded.

	Steven
Beth	✓
David	✓
Heather	✓
Roxy	✓
Frank	✓
Jennifer	✓
Sarah	✓
Steven	✓
Matthew	✓

The ballot cards were collected and the count was read aloud.

Vote Results: Steven Carr was congratulated as the Treasurer of the Board.

### 3. Committee Sign Up - Bylaw 9132

Budget/Audit Committee: Steven Carr, David Colavecchio, Roxy Fainer

Policy Committee: Frank Treglia, Steven Carr, Matthew VanOrmer, Roxy Fainer

AFSCME Negotiations Committee: Steven Carr, Roxy Fainer

Achievement Committee: Sarah Ethier, David Colavecchio, Roxy Fainer, Matthew VanOrmer

## 4. Adjournment

David Colavecchio motioned and Matthew VanOrmer seconded to adjourn the meeting. Chairperson Roxy Fainer adjourned the meeting at 5:41pm.